The intellectual equivalent of a ham sandwich.

August Haiku

August 1 (Tuesday)
(To the cotton song)
The touch … The feeeeel … Of naptime
Daydream of my souuul

August 2 (Wednesday)
Baby class tonight
Make friends? Embarrass my wife?
Go for gold with both??

August 3 (Thursday)
I’m glued to this app?
Dude, no way! I’m gonna save …
Then I’ll state my case …

August 4 (Friday)
Junk food for dinner?
No, come on, be realistic
Junk food AND ice cream

August 5 (Saturday)
Wife is out of town …
Time to go a bit nuts and
Clean up the basement!!!

August 6 (Sunday)
Grey skies and sprinkles
I need coffee, a window
And I’m good to go

August 7 (Monday)
New dentist today
Sadly, he’s not named Crentist
But I think he’ll do

August 8 (Tuesday)
I’ll say this to you –
My opponent’s a good man,
And a great snuggler

August 9 (Wednesday)
Last year: no snakes seen
This year: three spotted so far
Guys … I think I’m doomed

August 10 (Thursday)
Serious question:
Santa. This very moment.
He eating Ramen?

August 11 (Friday)
Tested code I wrote
Friday afternoon. Test fails.
Monday self: good luck.

August 12 (Saturday)
Nazi flags displayed
Not just sans shame, but with pride
What U.S. is this?

August 13 (Sunday)
Busy week ahead
This calls for … Naptivity!
(Actively napping)

August 14 (Monday)
Just chips for dinner?
No, be real, I’m an adult
Also having dip

August 15 (Tuesday)
Skipping a concert
Embracing lazy! Bonus:
Sold tix, got back cash!

August 16 (Wednesday)
Cleaning the house up
Do I find it dirty? No.
Wife vetoes my vote.

August 17 (Thursday)
My wife’s water broke
Fine, good, great … But a bit soon.
She’s 32 weeks

August 18 (Friday)
Ambulance transfer?
OB ICU? Check. Check.
SIMMER DOWN, BABY!

August 19 (Saturday)
Two steroid shots down
(They speed up baby’s lung growth)
Hoping and waiting

August 20 (Sunday)
Moving rooms today!
Want to hit thirty-four weeks
Each day cooking helps

August 21 (Monday)
My wife and bed rest
How will she survive two weeks
Of doing nothing?

August 22 (Tuesday)
Wife’s mom takes day shift
I work, then take the night shift
Wife yells ‘HOLD!’ at womb

August 23 (Wednesday)
Assumed dull bed rest
Instead every day is unique
Not in a good way

August 24 (Thursday)
Wife woke up and puked
Intense dizziness from drugs
The party don’t stop!!

August 25 (Friday)
Baby’s heartbeats off
Wife moves rooms for constant watch
…Child, stop it! … Please?

August 26 (Saturday)
Wife feels better now!!!
… But contractions have started
… And she’s in labor …

August 27 (Sunday)
Whoa – I’m a father!
Ahh! Put my wife’s guys back please!
(C-sections are nuts)

August 28 (Monday)
Holding my son is …
Love bolstering? Full of joy?
No. Terrifying.

August 29 (Tuesday)
Lots of tiny tools:
The small blood pressure leg band
Is my favorite

August 30 (Wednesday)
Back to work today
Saving paternity leave
For when he comes home

August 31 (Thursday)
Wife’s still healing up
Bed rest, the drugs, surgery
They took a big toll

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: